Spey Pages banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
913 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A question for all you long liners out there, I have 3 Loomis rods i would like to try out with the XLT lines, A 13'GLX 8/9, 14'GLX 9/10 and a 15'GLX 10/11. Any one out there use these rods with XLT's? and if so which lines would you recomend. thanks in advance,tight lines,brian :)

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
I have been using the 13' GLX 8/9 for 7 years and have found it casts the 7/8 XLT very well. I don't own either the 14' 9/10 or 15' 10/11 GLX (I prefer my T&T 1511-3 and 1611-3 over these two GLX's, which is why I don't own them). I've really like the 14' 9/10 with the 8/9 XLT and the 15' 10/11 with the 9/10 XLT. In general I've found that fast rods like the GLX, T&T, Loop Green Series, etc. work best with either the XLT or the GrandSpey if you drop a line size from the rod's designation.

·
Registered
239 Posts
You might consider sending a PM LastCastSteve (he's fishing for Kings now, back in a week)... Steve's on the Loomis Pro staff, and can hadily answer your XLT questions.

·
Registered
150 Posts
I have a GLX 15ft and have found that the 10/11 XLT is that bit too heavy. Go for the 9/10#, you will not be let down!! I can not help with the other rods!

Gordon Armstrong

·
Registered
913 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
A follow up question for flytyer

Gordon, thanks for the info i will try the 9/10. spey_bubba thanks i will e-mail steve. flytyer which grandspey do you use on your 13' 8/9 GLX ?.thanks in advance,brian

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
Brian,

I use the 7/8 GrandSpey on the 13' 8/9 GLX. The rod has that nice, crisp, easy loading GLX feel with the 7/8 GS that had sold me on the 13' GLX when I bought it. Also, I'm glad that Simon used an 80' belly/back taper on the 7/8 GS because this length is very nice on a 13' rod.