Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Subject: Wulff 30 pound Oval Backing vs. 30 pound Micron bacfking
My questions for board members: Do you have experience with Wulff Oval fly line backing? Have you been able to place more Wulff 30 pound Oval backing on a reel than 30 pound Cortland Micron backing?

What prompted these questions was using my local fly shop's line machine to measure length of Wulff Oval backing I had spooled by hand earlier this year. I use Tibor Gulfstream reels and have historically been able to fit 225 yards of Micron 30 pound backing plus a WindCutter 8.9.10. This 225 average is per local fly shops line machines measurements.

Earlier this year, for the first time I installed Wulff Oval 30# backing by hand [also a first--never again, it took approx. 1400 revolutions] and had always assumed that the length was 225 yards +/-. One might ask who in hell counts reel revolutions? I can't help it, I'm an engineer!

Back to the subject. Recently I removed the WC8.9.10 and Wulff backing from a Gulfstream and today replaced them using the local fly shop machine to learn exactly how much backing was present. Suprise--296 yards!

Visual inspection of the Wulff 30 pound Oval backing shows no obvious change in dimensions as the backing is rotated, so perhaps a magnifying glass or microscope is needed. Visually the Wulff Oval backing is the same diameter as Cortland's 30 pound Micron.

I compared four types of backing and measured each one 12 times, threw out the high and low readings and averaged the remaining 10. Don't take these numbers as absolute because the act of measuring a braided line squeezes it, but I did my best. My micrometer measures to one-thousanth of an inch, not highly precise, but this isn't rocket science.

Following is the data:
Standard Backing