Spey Pages banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This summer and fall, I've become completely absorbed by the single spey and have been practicing like mad and have been using it nearly 100% of the time when fishing a dry line. I've been on the lookout for others using the single so I could watch and learn. However, I've seen NOBODY using the single. Going back all the years I've been using a 2-hander (since 1997), I can't recall seeing anyone using the single as a fishing cast in and around Washington and Oregon states. Maybe I've been extremely unobservant. I've been researching Speypages for technique tips and ran across the poll "Favorite casts with a long line." 140 people responded and the most, 55%, said that the single was their favorite. I know members of the forum from anywhere in the world can respond so I understand the poll results may not match my informal observations on the river. Also, the poll may not reflect the practice of NW fishermen, many of whom are using shorter heads. (I'm assuming that long lines meant midspey and longer.) I usually see snap Ts, circle speys, and double speys. On occasion, I see snake rolls and the odd Perry Poke. But never a single. Does my observations match those of other 2-handers from Northern California to Canada and Alaska? I'll not likely part ways with shorter heads and casts associated with them for winter and spring, but man I can't believe I've denied myself the pleasure of unrolling a single all these years in summer and fall.

·
Registered
77 Posts
In the summer and early fall when using floating lines, I use the single spey exclusively with a mid-belly line ( RIO midspey (7 weight only) or Carron 75'), depending on the river. The exception being with a downstream wind - then I use a snake-roll exclusively.