Spey Pages banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone tell me who makes Cabela's store brand spey rods?And will they work in the surf? Or would you used something else?

·
Registered
646 Posts
Personally, I would check out the TFO 12' 12 wt for surf work. Lots written on this rod and it's merits for the demands of surf fishing.
Chris

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
I don't know who makes all Cabela's rods. At one time I believe some of them came from St. Croix. I believe they will work as good in the surf as any other comparable two hander of the same length and line weight. That is not to say a 15' rod might work as good as an 11' rod such as an Atlantis or a 12X12 TFO.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
Hi Al -

I have many years of experience fishing two-handers in the surf, both Spey and overhead styles. I rent a place in Chatham for the summer and guide on Monomoy and the outer beaches of Cape Cod.

I would suggest these considerations:

What type of fishing - swinging a long belly line or strip retrieving a shooting head?

Fly size?

Rocks or boat involved?

Surfside and flats or just surf? (or just flats :))

These determine things like rod length and action, handle configuration, and of course all saltwater demands the most corrosion resistant of components.

BTW - I have no idea who makes Cabelas rods.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Two-handed In The Surf?

What would be your ideal of a beginner two-handed rod for the surf?

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
BIG AL said:
What would be your ideal of a beginner two-handed rod for the surf?