Spey Pages banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to tying spey flies (but not fly tying). That being said I am having difficulties with Whitings spey hackle (bronze grade). I find it very sparse and very time consuming to tie with. I find that I have to find 2 or 3 matching lengths, clamp them together with my hackle pliers, fold over to 1 side and then tie in. Sometimes I have breakage and it is generally laboursome. Any time I find myself having a great deal of difficulty with something it often turns out that I am doing something wrong.

I have never tied with BEP and have used schlappen. I find that schlappen will only tie small flies and really doesn't work out the way I would like.

Is BEP that much better? Should I have purchsed gold grade? Is BEP the best way?

I apprecriate any and all suggestions.

Regards,

David

·
Registered
283 Posts
Not a fan of the Whiting spey hackle. I've only found a few real usable feathers on each skin.

Yes, BEP is that much better. The larger sizes tend to collapse in the water and some of the smaller sizes are fairly stiff so look before you buy. Short of having real heron it's about as close as you can get.

Some folks are using Rhea but I have yet to figure that one out. I find the stem impossible to deal with but the fibres look pretty good. Maybe someone could clue me in on this one.

-Chris

·
Relapsed Speyaholic
5,533 Posts
Do a search on Whiting Hackle. Some love it and some hate it.

Personally I use it on most of my patterns not just Spey/Dee style. Part of the problem might be the Bronze grade although the newer Bronze is as good as the Silver from a couple of years ago. You do need to use two, three and sometimes four feathers on large hooks depending on how full you want your dressing but that is not any problem to do.

·
Jack Cook
1,668 Posts
Yep

I use Rhea or Blue Eared Pheasant Tail when I am doinf HUGE flies.