Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
945 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got an ACR NOVA 1215, which is on the light end of a 5wt (say 325 scandi and 360 skagit) and wanted to try a double taper for trout fishing. I understand that they can be a real pain to cast, and that's part of the appeal of trying them. I have no experience with them on DH rods so really don't have an idea where to start.....or if some are better than others for fishing dry flies, etc.

Are some tapers better for DH casting? Can I just use run of the mill SH lines in heavier weights? Any and all information and suggestions are welcome.

CT

·
Released to spawn
4,348 Posts
The slickest double taper lines still made are Cortland - specifically 444 Classic

These are available in DT#5, 90' total line length, and, of course, reversible (so that when the end you are using becomes less good, simply reverse the line and use the other end).

There's one on the big auction site at the moment @ $62 plus shipping ;)

The other great thing about a DT line, is that you don't really need to bother so critically about 'head weight', as in reality, the whole line is "the head", just smoothely and equally tapered at each end. With this, you can load the rod with whatever length of line outside the tip top ring as feels best for you and your casting style/efficiency, and then shoot some more as you make the forward casting stroke.

The #5 simply refers to the AFTMA rating for the first 30' of the line.

Mike

·
Registered
19 Posts
double taper lines give flexibility to the caster

if you like a light load or will often want to carry a longer line: DF7F

if you like a heavy load or mostly fish close: DT8F

·
Scandit sublima virtus
2,263 Posts
Congratulations! Taking on the DT is a gutsy move. No other line will reveal the flaws in your technique more than a *****y ol' DT line. She is a cruel mistress, but fair.