Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those that have experience fishing the Great Lakes tribs, when do most of you utilize sink tips :confused: ? I'm fairly new to the art of Spey. So for my first season (last year) I stuck with my floating tip so I could learn to cast rather than focusing on the fish. Now that I can at least lay out my line most of the time I'd like to start fishing and not merely practicing as it were. Not that I'd ever mind hooking into a fish during practice. Is it purely a temperature dependence thing or does holding water depth play heavily? I'm using Rio's Windcutter veristip sytem so I know I 've got plenty of options when the time comes to sink my fly. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Welcome to the Board

There whould be some additional comment from those who fish your streams with better recommendations.

It depends a little on the river system and how you want to fish. For example, some BC systems are known for surface oriented fish, even in fairly cold water, if the water is clear. Some people like to fish with a floating line, long leader, and heavy thinly dressed flies to get down, even in winter.

Where I fish, I go to tips in the middle of the day when it is bright. I also go to tips when the visibility is down, and when water temperature is cold - lower 40s.

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info. I guess all the Great Lakes folks are out chasing steelhead. In the rivers and streams I fish here on Lake Michigan I really haven't encountered any surface oriented steelhead. Skating or waking flies is a rare occurance over here. I'll just try the sink tips and see what works. Besides, I need to learn to work these lines at some point anyway.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Watershed,