Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going on a guided trip to Skeena in Sept for steelhead and coho. I'm getting prepared early because I'm fairly new to spey fishing and I need more practice. I only have a 11' 4wt TFO deer creek for trout and 11'9" 8wt Redington dually switch for salmon/steelhead. I assume I'll need at least one more full size spey rod for the trip. 13'6" 7wt maybe? Do you guys have any recommendations on what gear and how I should prepare for the trip? I don't really want to a high end setup because I probably won't use it much in my home water which is smaller rivers, unless I can find a really good deal. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,732 Posts
have not fished the Skeena much but from what I remember a lot of those fish are really close to the bank so a switch may not be a bad choice. Would even consider bringing a single hander if you already have one.

·
Relapsed Speyaholic
5,408 Posts
I'm sure that there will be many chime in with the opposite opinion but unless you were concentrating solely on the Bulkley/Morice, I would go armed with an 8 weight. I have fished and caught fish on the Copper with a 13' for 7 but for it and most other Skeena tribs, the backbone of an 8 is nice to have. This includes the Skeena itself that has big, fresh and strong fish in it headed for the Kispiox, Sustut and Babine.

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
Go with a solid 8wt as you have a choice of what to purchase now. I've taken a 13'4" 7wt but I felt undergunned and we owe it to the fish to play them quickly and then release.

All Skeena tribs are capable of producing 20+lb fish (even the Morice, Copper, etc.).

Leave the 4wt at home. The switch is okay for smaller tribs but you'll likely want something 8 wt and 13'+ to reach further lies on the larger rivers.