Spey Pages banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have suggestions on lining this size rod? I have no preference on line type or casting style. I have been using small skagit heads on singlehand rods for river smallmouth and stripers and splicing lines to get spey-castable setups for trout but I have no experience with a twohanded rod, least of all one of this size. The rod was given to me so I figure I should try and put it to good use. What weight head would work best here? I currently use a 280 grain triangle taper on my #8 singlehand rod and it performs well, I just don't know enough about spey rods to do anything but guess. Any recommendations on favorite lines would be greatly appreciated.
My intent would be to fish it in the surf primarily. Although this time of year where I live we get a striper run in the river up to the fall line and it is a fantasy of mine to hook a good fish on the fly from just below the whitewater while standing on the bank. I just have be able to reach them and hang on. Thanks in advance.

·
Stuck on DT
44 Posts
I fish a 15' 10wt. I use a DT10F (120ft) I'm pretty sure. Coupled with the rod, the line starts to work best at about 75 feet or so.
I often fish shallower, riffle water at these distances and remain unseen. Long distance strikes can be exciting.
Wish there were more of them though.;)

·
Hooked4life
2,085 Posts