Spey Pages banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i was just wondering what is the difference between a underhand cast and a spey cast. i was just wondering as i was interested in a meiser switch rod and he said a underhand cast is the best cast to use with this rod. i am a rookie so hope this question isnt to silly. :hihi:

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
Hey Scott...

In the subscriber forums Dana has some video clips of the underhand cast. He also has some articles on it in subscriber forums and somewhere I think he has his interview with Henrik Mortensen.
If you do a search you will also find a lot of references to the underhand cast.
I think it is mostly associated with the single spey but you can use the underhand cast principles with all spey casts.

·
Registered
886 Posts
An excellent question and I would think if you travelled back in time and asked Alexander Grant, he would struggle to answer.
To my simple Scottish mind there are four Speycasts, Single, with left hand up, and with right hand up, Double with left hand up and right hand up.
The rest are just minor variations.

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Scott,

The underhand cast is, simply put, a cast with a double-handed rod (any make) in which the primary application of power is with the bottom - or underhand - and the top hand is more or less along for the ride during the power phase of the forward stroke.

The other casts which are more traditional, involve either the use of the top hand dominant or a more equal use of both hands to deliver power. They are, in my opinion all speycasts.

As for a rod being "made for underhand" that may be the case but you can use any method to cast today's rods, they will handle all the techniques with relative ease. I have cast Meiser rods and they work very well with all three of the "styles" I mentioned. I just don't think it worth worrying about, whichever rod you are interested in will handle "your" style of casting.

·
Speyngineer