Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im relatively new to the DH rod game( 2 years now) Is there a defined difference between a switch rod and a spey rod?? If its 3 or 4wt is it a switch rod, but a 5 and above is a spey?? Or is a 11'6" a switch and anything longer than a 12'6" a spey rod?? And what is the difference between a micro-spey and switch??

Im guessing its all semantics and one guy might call one rod a switch rod and another would call it a spey

Would love it if someone could educate me on the actual definition of the 3 if there really is one
Thanks
BF

·
loco alto!
3,072 Posts
Perhaps it'd help to know that the term "spey rod" was created in the USA as a marketing tool. The rest follows.

They are all "two-handed" or "double-handed" rods

·
Released to spawn
4,348 Posts
"Spey" Rods:

aka double handed fly rods

"Switch" Rods:

aka short double handed fly rods

http://www.meiserflyrods.com/switch-rods-info.php

http://www.meiserflyrods.com/switch-rods.php

"Micro-Spey" rods:

aka conversion of a single-hander fly rod to a foreshortened double hander handle configuration by adding a small lower grip

2006 discussion - http://www.speypages.com/speyclave/showthread.php?t=22124&highlight=micro-spey

2012 discussion - http://forum.skagitmaster.com/index.php?topic=1062.0

2014 discussion - http://www.speypages.com/speyclave/showthread.php?t=99993&highlight=micro-spey

·
Registered
249 Posts
Spey rods generally longer but not always and have more full flexing rod blank not so good for overhead casting but can be done.

Switch rod generally less than 12 feet and stiffer mid-section to allow overhead casting with one or two hands or "switch" to Spey casting and work great with bobbers.

Micro-Spey a small two handed Spey rod sometimes considered a trout Spey
Usually uses shooting heads under 300 grains.
Can be done with a single hand rod without a bottom hand grip.