Spey Pages banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am away to start tying simple black/yellow black/orange tube flies. I used to use bucktail when i last tied flies (a few years ago!).
Can anyone suggest an alternative ?? I need the lenghts to be about 2 1/2 inch maximum with most flies using 1 3/4 inch lenghts.
I also need the orange and yellow to be really bright/fluoro coloured.
I have heard about arctic fox but not sure if this would be suitable.

·
Registered
131 Posts
hairyscotsman said:
I am away to start tying simple black/yellow black/orange tube flies. I used to use bucktail when i last tied flies (a few years ago!).
Can anyone suggest an alternative ?? I need the lenghts to be about 2 1/2 inch maximum with most flies using 1 3/4 inch lenghts.
I also need the orange and yellow to be really bright/fluoro coloured.
I have heard about arctic fox but not sure if this would be suitable.
I'm no expert but used arctic fox to tie up a lot of temple dog tube flies for a recent trip. It took some time to get the hang of it and I'm sure fox is tied in differently for other styles of flies. But for the temple dogs I liked fox a lot. I found it best to leave it on the hide when tying in. I usually broke off tiny bits of the hide with the fur still attached. It was important to be sure I followed the natural curve of the hair in tying it in. Hope that helps.

·
Registered
215 Posts
HS, I still use bucktail for most of my conventional tubes, and I think it's hard to beat for that purpose. I might not use it for very small tubes, where it is a little coarse, but for the sizes of fly you mention it's great.