Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
913 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just kinda running this through my brain lately with the following sideboards. I'm thinking a stick for medium to small rivers with 100' casts about max, mostly 60-80'.

One that will handle a delta (or the short-mid belly of you choosing) with tips as well as a skagit head heavy enough to turn over big, heavy bunny leachest, etc. As the temperature is plummeting I'm really starting to like the idea of not stripping line.

A rod that is long enough to allow for good line control and mending.

Minimal back cast room not a huge concern but something to keep in mind.

In short, a rod that may not be the perfect choice for every scenario on every river but would never be a bad choice. All opinions welcome.

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
A 13' 7 wt does all this. Light to carry, cast, and fish, and enough umph to play to hand any steelhead that swims here. I've been fishing a 13' 4" CND Solstice for 7 years to the exclusion of everything else. And since CND has become scarce, I picked up a Sage Z-axis 7136 blank last winter and am building it up as my backup.

Sg

·
Registered
897 Posts
Burkheimer 8139-3 is what I use. I can fish it w/ a dry line or skagit equally well. It throws a skagit w/ big stuff quite nicely.

·
Registered
688 Posts
7136 brownie; good till you are done..whatever line turns your crank, durable, stand up company to back any issues, and forgiving. There are nicer, lighter fancier and much more expensive rods out there, but none have the soul of this rod.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I have a Meiser 13' 6/7 MKS and it fits almost all the areas and needs that I've came up against, it's really the only rod I use anymore.

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
Had to chuckle when I read this.