Spey Pages banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
552 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been trying to weld a loop on the butt (running line) end of a Royal Wulff Ambush fly line (8wt) without success. I am using the heat shrink tubing, and have tried different settings. The welds either burn (too hot) or look cold and fail. A good looking weld broke at the junction between the weld and the line with very little effort. I have had good success welding AirFlo and Gaelforce lines. Is there something unusual about the Ambush line?

Thanks,

Jim

·
Registered
175 Posts
i hesitate to offer advice on this as I'm far from an expert, but someone not long ago pointed out that the tubing continues to conduct heat to the line for some time after the hot air from the heat gun is redirected. Consequently, he suggested doing something like applying heat in 10 second increments, and watch what's going on between applications (how much welding occurs) before the next round. In other words, go slow and remember that the heat continues to go into the line for a bit after the heat source is removed.

Following this approach has dramatically improved the consistency of my welded loops. By coincidence, I just put a loop on the back end of an Ambush 6 the other night, and it worked fine. I use tubing I got from Poppy's shop probably a year ago.

·
Registered
1,434 Posts
I usually just use braided mono to create a loop, it's much easier than welding and I'm not too worried about how it looks. It goes through the eyes OKAY but again not a big concern as I do my best to not let a fish get that far anyways...

·
Registered
361 Posts
I make my own braided loops. Never fail. This will get you started:

http://www.danblanton.com/blog/getting-looped/. Be sure to use a double-catch loop.

Lots of other sites and videos.

Re: welding - make sure you know what the core is. If mono, you are SOL. Welding just seems too finicky for my tastes. You already know the problems!

·
Registered
552 Posts