Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone I am new to the Spey pages. I am interested in buying a wading jacket and had in mind either a Simms original or G3 or a Bare. Does anyone have any comment on either of these Jackets either pro or cons. Do you think the extra price for the G3 is worth it?
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Patagonia

is also a good option for a wading jacket. I have used the light version hard for several years with complete satisfaction.

·
Registered
360 Posts
Patagonia SST is all and more wading jacket than you'll ever need brotha'

·
Registered
271 Posts
My SST's been flawless for 3 or 4 yrs now and even very functional to wear in other conditions. I think it's very hard to go wrong with simms or pataguchi, both have some awesome products and from what I've heard they back them up.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks

Thanks to everyone who replied to my Question. I will now research the Patagonia option also. Those of you who own one seem very pleased with this product. Unfortunatelly no one with a Simms jacket replied so far.
A340

·
Registered
1,684 Posts
I've worn the G3 jacket for the past 2 years. Absolutely love it. Bombproof in the wind and sleet with a great hood. Watertight cuffs, two nice big pockets in the front for my C&F waterproof boxes, and the two front hangers are very functional (clippers and hemostats). The cut is done in a way as to not inhibit any movement issues. Having said all that the jacket better be great as the price ain't cheap! :Eyecrazy:

Hope that helps,
Preston

·
Registered
72 Posts
Simms G3

I finally pulled the trigger and bought the G3 a couple months ago. I debated over the Classic Guide Model and the G3... finally went with the G3 because of the slim, streamlined cuffs. I've had several good wading jackets that were similar in design to the Guide Model, but the thing I hated was the big bulky cuffs and velcro straps.