Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I am very new to the Spey casting scene so you'll have to forgive me if this sounds like a silly question. I am now in the market for a new fly vest and was wondering what most people perfer, a vest or a shoulder pack. Also any advice on a decent fly vest for around $100.00-$150.00 Canadian.

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
My favorite

I own five vests now....my favorite by a long stretch is the Bucks Bag chest pack...It allows for deep wading as it is infinitely adjustable....also for adding heavy outter wear. It is cool in summer and warm in winter, as I can add bulky fleece under it just by adjusting the straps...It holds the larger fly boxes better than most vests,,,has tippet dispensers at the front, I dont need to open a pocket to do so. It has a nice rear compartment for lunch, thermos and camera, and carry straps for a jacket that I may need to shed later in the day.

What I like the best is that it seems to be less restrictive when casting.

I like mine quite a bit and have not used my other vests for some time now.

Anyone interested in a couple of nice Columbia vests........

My two cents worth

Best regards......Jake

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Norseman,
I did a Google search and looked at the chest pack that you use, looks interesting. You mentioned in your last post that you may be parting with one of your old vests, what size is it? I may be interested.

Cheers, Wannafish

·
Registered
224 Posts
Hey, wannafish! I just started fishing with Springbrook's Ghillie Deluxe Chest Pack, and I absolutely love it. It should retail for around $150 - 160. I've never been one to like wearing vests or chest packs, but had to try this one after a buddy made the purchase. I promptly dropped the coin, with no regrets. They have different models available too, so one of them should suit your style.

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
Vest versus chest packs