Spey Pages banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I think I may have solved my junction tubing dilema from the post I wrote below. Now I have to figure out why the plastic tube I'm using keeps breaking into two pieces? I'm using the 3/32" hard plastic tubes that you cut to length. I've been using 2" tubes for sculpins and have had each one break at some point. What would cause this to happen? One of them broke without ever catching a fish so I don't think it was leveraged like the one before that kept the hook in the junction tubing on several fish. Should I use the softer plastic tubes? Thanks for any suggestions.

Brian

·
Junkyard Spey
7,114 Posts
Hey Brian...

I'm not saying this applies to you but I used to break a lot of tubes in half with my wham bam spey casting style.

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Brian,

I have been using tubes exclusively for 5 or 6 years and there was a time when I experienced a bit of tube breakage. Once in a while I would get too close to a steep bank and ping the fly against a rock, but most of the breaks seemed to occur for no good reason. After a lot of experimenting with different tubing I concluded that the breakage was a function of the tube material itself.

Now both Dana and I use 3/16 brake tubing and have zero breakage. It seems the more brittle tubing was effected by the temperature and by the forces created by the speycast itself - especially when one fails to wait for the d-loop to properly form and "cracks the whip"! I found fewer breaks when it was warm out - hence the temperature theory, it seems the tubes got brittle and snapped during the cast.

Since I switched to the tough black brake line I get virtually no breakage. Even when I tick a rock I will break the hook - but not the tube. I suggest that your breaks are more a result of the tube material than anything else.

·
Registered
71 Posts