Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm headed down to the Toronto area this fall and don't know where to fish. Not expecting A-list spots but any river that is swingy would be appreciated. I'm totally new to the southern Ontario spey game so if anybody knows of any good patterns i would very much appreciate it. I'm used to swinging big hobos and intruders for Lake Superior steelhead but i heard southern ontarios are a bit shy on large profiles. is smaller better? Natural colors or bright and flashy? Any bit of information helps. Cheers!

·
Registered
134 Posts
Good rivers to swing in the Toronto and southern Ontario area are Credit river, Grand river, Maitland river and Saugeen river. Check the Regulations on which part of the river is open before you go. Always a good idea to call a local fly shop to get more info. As far as patterns fish a fly you have confidence in. Ontario steelhead are Not shy, fish a bigger fly in high and stained water and smaller in clear lower water. Get ready to get low holed by hundreds of centerpiners in the most popular spots, but you can find good water to fish. Hope that gets you started.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Good rivers to swing in the Toronto and southern Ontario area are Credit river, Grand river, Maitland river and Saugeen river. Check the Regulations on which part of the river is open before you go. Always a good idea to call a local fly shop to get more info. As far as patterns fish a fly you have confidence in. Ontario steelhead are Not shy, fish a bigger fly in high and stained water and smaller in clear lower water. Get ready to get low holed by hundreds of centerpiners in the most popular spots, but you can find good water to fish. Hope that gets you started.
thank you for the info. Yeah, I hear the fishing pressure is pretty high on popular rivers

·
Registered
90 Posts