Spey Pages banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Paid subscriber
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have become increasingly interested in whether or not I should get into all things spey. I have read lots of stuff on the subject(I am a teacher) and contacted the Red Shed about gear, etc. It is undoubtedly an investment, both financially(see career choice) and spiritually. Living in the Chicago area as I do, I wonder how useful this method will be to me on a year round basis..i.e. warmwater fishing. I would like to attend a "clave" but those seem to be lacking around here.

Being a teacher, my instinct is to ask lots of questions, so here it is, oh wise throwers of line.....
Respond to the question above.... should I make the leap or NOT?

·
Administrator
19,701 Posts
I believe no-one could answer that question !! That choice is yours !!

But I will tell you this , there are lots of options with a two-hander !!! If it swims , it most likely will take a fly on the swing !! Whether below the surface or on top (skated/damp) .

Sometimes , you need to think outside the box !!

Mike

·
EAT IT!!!
338 Posts
So what is it about two handed rods that draws you to them? Have you been fishing for steelhead in the GL's or elsewhere for awhile and want to try something new, or are you taking up fishing for lake run fish and thinking about starting with a two hander? What rivers do ou fish and how do your fish them? What other types of fishing do you enjoy, or want to try? A little background would make the question easier to answer. However, spey rods are just plain fun, and therefore you should probably get one or more anyway just to have a new toy in the bag.

·
Registered
360 Posts
The Answer is yes.

·
#&%*@^# Caster
3,058 Posts