Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to spey fishing and I am looking for a 7 wt rod that I can use for big water trout in Alaska (Kenai, Naknek,Kvichik) some steelhead (where ever I can) and maybe even some trout fishing where I live in Colorado, although I know it will be a bit heavy for that.
I don't really want to spend $700 for a sage, scott etc so I'd like to know thoughts on CND, Loop, Lamiglas, Flylogic etc.

Thanks
Dennis

·
Registered
498 Posts
Trout Spey

Dennis

Most manufactures are getting into the trout spey game. This coming weekend we are having a get together on the Deschutes to try some. I am not sure when CND Juro will have the Spey Trackers out, but they have a 1306, and 1307. Loomis has the 13'4" Metolius, Sage has the 1206, And Bob Meiser has his line of trouter speys. 12'6" 5/6 11'4" 6/7 11'7" 5/6 plus several 7 weight rods. TFO has a 12'6" 6.

As you can see there are several to choose from. All these rods are under $500.

Skilly

·
Registered
267 Posts
7wt's

One of the best 7WT's out there is the CND custom 1307SP. I cant say enough about this rod. I use it for GL brown trout and steelhead. Also for smallies and inland trout as well. This rod works great with floating lines as well as sink tips. It has plenty of reserve power for tossing larger flies on sink tips yet still feels incredibly light so you can fish it all day and not fell like you lost the fight the next day.

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Welcome to the Board

Dennis