Spey Pages banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Inspired by the debate initiated by my Green King, I have chosen to tie a spey fly in the old school way. I am aware that this may have been done before and that this topic emerges from time to time - and that it may for some be a bit annoying. For me however it's a fun variation in the way to tie classic spey flies, and helps me to have a healthy disrespect for the rules, as the classics of ancient times are tied different from how we would choose to interpret a classic fly today. And it keep me in tune of what kind of materials and patterns that fits the bill to become an actual spey fly, contemporary or classic. Here's my interpretation of the classic pattern The Purple King. Feel free to give some constructive inputs on how I can improve my tying skills, I am still in my first year of fly tying and get exalted on the steep learning curve ;-)

The Purple King
Browns Spey flies, 24th Jan 1891, R.B. Marston, Fishing Gazette

Body. – Light purple wool, ribbed with one flat and two thread tinsels; one gold and one silver
Hackle. – Brownish black feather from side of cock’s tail, would contrary to tinsels and crossed by one of them.
Teal at shoulder
Wing. – Double strips of Mallard, short and set apart to allow hackle to appear between them.

Knæk og Bræk ;-)
Søren

·
Registered
5,365 Posts
First off I will apologize for any grief caused to you by my comments and opinions. I will try and keep that in check.

As for the dressing - Its a dead ringer - I hope you lose it in the worst way possible! ;)

·
Registered
506 Posts
Keep in mind you will learn alot more from old books, old fly plates and sites like feathers flies and phantoms (im assuming you found that drawing there) than you ever will on speypages. Alot of modern trends and gospel on online forums, just do it your own way!

VERY nice fly. Looks like it will fish nicely !

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
Nicely done.