Spey Pages banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
693 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone has used Talon Spey Rods and what you thought of them. They have 2 lines, the Cairnton and Highlander. I have one of there single handed rods and it is very nice.

Thanks Charlie

·
Registered
127 Posts
Charlie,

I purchased my first spey rod last winter, a cairnton 13' 8/9 F off Ebay for @ 200 bucks. I had started casting friend's rods for about 2 months the preceeding fall so I was a beginer caster, now after a full year i'm an expert beginer so read my review with my level of experience in mind.

Right off the bat I was suprised at how soft the rod was, seemed whippy compared to the borrowed sage, st croix and arc that I had my first casts with. I casted wind cutter, mid spey and mastery spey lines. Using sink tips the rod really bent over but did pull the tips up. Forming the D loop the rod was curved into a deep arc and slow in the forward cast. I'd describe it as slow and traditional. I checked out threads re: Talon and their web site and saw that they also market a S (for slow) and a XF (extra fast). I found myself wondering what the XF would feel like. I could'nt imagine that the S would be any slower. Talon's web site described their rods action as unique!