Spey Pages banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the whole switch rod thing but was wondering what would be the lightest weight steelhead rod a guy would want to use? I live in Michigan and will be fishing michigan waters only. 8-10 pound winter fish on big flies and sink tip. Could I get away with using a 6 weight switch? If I can, let me know!

Thanks!
Michael

·
Registered
210 Posts
I personally would opt for a 7. Something like a TCX 7119. I have the TCX 6119 and its great for smaller fish when they don't have big water but I'm undergunned for larger fish or in higher water on bigger systems. Also, the 7 gives you a bit more versatility in terms of the size of fly and weight of tips you can throw. With that being said if you are only fishing smaller sytems than maybe you'd be ok. I'm sure a few of the Michigan guys will chime in here, but my guess is they might also advise a 7. You've got some huge fish and lots of big water so don't under class yourself IMO.

Mike

·
Registered
160 Posts
MikeB beat me to the punch, I have a TCX-7119 and it feels amazing light in hand while still being pretty beefy when needed. They do come up on the classified page or you could go with the 7119 Method which has replaced the TCX.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. I appreciate the input! I'll look for a 7wt. Maybe even an 8. I fish the the lower portion of the Ausable river. There is some deep holes so I will be throwing heavy sink tip and flys...I want to be able to throw all of that but since I will be mostly fishing out of a boat the length of a switch rod seems like it would be a lot nicer fishing out of the boat than my 13'6 and 14' Spey rods.

·
Registered
371 Posts