Spey Pages banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m looking at picking up a stonfo transformer vise and interested in any first hand opinions.
Really like the option of the different jaws ranging from regular, streamer and tube.
I don’t love the bulk ones of the base but don’t mind it since it serves a purposes as tool and material holder.
Anyone have any opinions or experience. Do these hold fairly well?

· Registered
384 Posts
Vice is awesome - I've been tying on one for a while (4 or 5 years?) after using a Regal for 25 years. Just wish the base was heavier as I find I can move it around more than I'd like when I'm reefing on the tying material for ties that need tight wraps like some streamers. I tie a lot of tubes and conventional flies so use all three sets of jaws. I give it a 9/10, which would be 10/10 if the base was heavier and grippier to my desk.

· Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Vice is awesome - I've been tying on one for a while (4 or 5 years?) after using a Regal for 25 years. Just wish the base was heavier as I find I can move it around more than I'd like when I'm reefing on the tying material for ties that need tight wraps like some streamers. I tie a lot of tubes and conventional flies so use all three sets of jaws. I give it a 9/10, which would be 10/10 if the base was heavier and grippier to my desk.
That’s funny because I read a review elsewhere too that the base wasn’t heavy but you would think it’s heavier than most given the size.

· Registered
222 Posts
I’ve been using one for the last 5 or 6 years. Excellent quality and the expense can be justified if you have need of all three heads. I bolted the vice to my bench so I cannot comment on the stability of the base but it seems much heavier than others I have purchased. The streamer head adjustment screw works loose about every 12 flies. I tie around 3,000 flies/jigs a year and have no failures to report.

· Registered