Spey Pages banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi out there.

I have just bought me a Norwich EV4 15´#10-11 it works well with an 37 gm shooting head at 36 foot. I´m looking for a short spey line as the windcutter but I have some questions

will the 9-10-11 windcutter match the rod?

if I buy the line with tips and mount the floating tip, will it then turn over as smoothly as a normal floater?

Are there other short heat speylines I should consider?

·
Registered
260 Posts
I have no experience by that particular rod but something tells me you should go with the 10-12. I got a rod with a 9/10 and a 10/11 top and the 10-12 WC works well with both tops.

I tried an 8-10 WC for my 13´ 8/9 and it actually felt a bit too light (while a 10/11 Ian Gordon was just a bit too heavy). I´d like the 9/10/11 WC for that rod.

I haven´t experienced any bad turn over capacity with the floating tip.

Cheers :)

·
Registered
68 Posts
Hi Ibsen,
I have a Loop Gray 15' which is rated #10 and I have just bought a Guideline Power taper shooting head rated #10-#11 @13.4m which weighed at 49g according to my digital kitchen scales. What sort of shooting head have you got? Seems pretty light (39g=570grains) for a #10 rod, but hey, if it works for you then stick with it.
Anyway, one of the short heads that I would definitely recommend you take a look at is the Scientific Anglers Mastery Short Head Spey. I have a #9-10, but I'm sure the rod would handle the #10-11 if I wanted it to.
Before I bought it I got about five or six lines rated around 10 from friends and cast them all, as did my fishing buddies, and all of us liked the SA short best. Seems to turn over really smoothly with no noticable kick.
If you have a good relationship with a tackle shop and they'd be willing to let you try a couple then I'd take advantage of it. Or like me you could round up a couple of lines from friends..... :D

·
Registered
328 Posts