Spey Pages banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Spey loop different compared to single hand loop?

Hello, fellow newbie here. Was out at the Cow today with my new CND Steelhead hoping to hook into some Steel but unfotunately did not, but did hook into some FAT 5lb SRCs that felt like Steel.
Anyways, just got done reviewing some videos on the net and dvd and noticed that the Spey loop is somewhat dif compared to a single hand loop, the upper loop of a spey cast is slightly off to the right(being right handed) to the bottom of the same loop, unlike in single hand flyfishing, the loop is directly parallel (over/under) of each other. Here am I trying to get my spey loops directly parallel of each other and maybe this is the cause of me loosing 5+ flies, (line snapping/whipping the water on back cast).
Correct me if I'm wrong, but could this be true?

PS: I did 20 or so perfect casts in a row then all of a sudden they started to become lazy loops and lack of power, could it be cause of fatigue or ?

The reverse snap T seems to be my fav right now, all the other basic casts I'm still trying to perfect. Thanks for the help guys!

Peter ><>

·
loco alto!
3,109 Posts
all manners of over/under or side-by-side loops are possible with one or two handed rods, it all depends on the rod angle during delivery.

Just remember that while a side-by-side loop looks really sexy from the side (artificially tight), it can lead to wonky leader turnover.

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
I can only speak for myself in this matter, and I am sure there are those who are expert casters using a vertical loop. In most casting situations, single-handed overhead, double-handed overhead, or spey - I personally prefer to cast with the top half of the loop further away from the caster than the bottom half of the loop, even if by a small gap.