Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've heard the flyline industry is going to standard line wieght in grains next year.Is this true and what are going to be the specs and the ranges of grain wieghts for a given line wieght?I'm new to the Spey galaxy and I've had a hard time getting info on linewieghts in grains but even more of a tougher time to get the recommended wieght in grains for the two rods I have.I think the rod companies should list the range intended for the rod.I've been doing a lot of research and some Spey lines of the identical wieght have a difference of 300 grains.That's huge and trying to match a line to a rod could be a fortune and not to mention frustrating.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Check out the old threads

Cannon,
do a search and you'll find some good threads on the new standards. A window for each rod could be tough as it depends on the belly length you are fishing. You can do a search on your specific rod and find out what others are fishing on it. RIOs great recommendation are a good place to start. As you're learning you may prefer the B rating. I fished the B ratings for my first three years and now I like the A ratings better. Most new spey lines won't be too far off RIOs but again you can find most of the dirt here on the site through searches.
Dan

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
I don't believe the new standards are going to make anything that much easier when trying to match rods, lines, stature, personal preference, and casting ability. Spey casters want to know the head lengths and the grain weights for same. The simple solution is for the line companies to follow Rio and Snowbee's lead and label the line boxes with the specs and for the rod companies to follow Snowbee's leads and label the rods in like manner.