Spey Pages banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I went to a fishing store today for the boxing day and I bought a Greys GRXi+ 13' #8.

My goal is to fish for pike with that rod, but I'm new in the spey world, so I have some question about that.

1) What is the best style of spey casting for pike on large river / lake? Scandinavian, skagit ?

2) Can I use my "normal" one-hand #9 flies for pike (big 2/0 or 4/0 streamers) or I need some spey flies / smaller flies ?

3) Do you have a good spey line to recommend to me?

Thanks a lot...

·
Registered
650 Posts
Hi!

I went to a fishing store today for the boxing day and I bought a Greys GRXi+ 13' #8.

My goal is to fish for pike with that rod, but I'm new in the spey world, so I have some question about that.

1) What is the best style of spey casting for pike on large river / lake? Scandinavian, skagit ?

2) Can I use my "normal" one-hand #9 flies for pike (big 2/0 or 4/0 streamers) or I need some spey flies / smaller flies ?

Thanks a lot...

Might be tough tossing big pike flies on an 8 (articulated over 7") but it can be done. I'd say Skagit would be your best bet unless you're throwing lightweight topwater that doesn't retain water.

As for flies, I'd go with what you use for your single...that's IF you can turn them over. If you can't, I'd suggest upping your rod size to a 9/10 or even 10/11. What depths are you fishing, size of the flies, and are they weighted? All big factors...

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for your answer.