Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Indicators Anonymous
846 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, there is a 13' for a #9 Loop Gray Line that is just calling my name...should see the first production models this month.

Anyways, I am dying to build up a true 'Skagit Casting' line for this rod and was wondering if there are more to these lines then just wacking up some #12 or #14 DT and splicing in a running line.

Well, I am sure there are but I want the details! :)

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
The off-the-shelf version:

Although I'm not an expert on Skagit-type lines (there was an article in STS a year or two ago), I've found an easy version for my two 9-weight rods: An ordinary length WF11F line, minus the front taper and with a loop added. I suppose a WF12F would work, probably cut a little shorter. I prefer long-belly lines, but on a smaller stream like the Vedder River, this line rocks. About three or four strips in, then another easy 70-75' cast with 15' tips.

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Skagit Lines

Ryan,