Spey Pages banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys, I'm a two handed rod rookie and need a little help/knowledge in determining what sink tip(s) to use on my rod.

Rod is a Beulah 10'6" 5/6 Classic Switch. I've got it lined with 30lb miracle braid running line and a Steve Godshall 351gr, 21.4' Skagit head. Steve recommends tips up to 120gr in weight, I'm trying to determine what length I should have said tips in and what material? T-? cut to length, or should I get pre made ones? Basically, if anyone has suggestions here I'm all ears. I have tips from an old 8wt SH Rio versi-tip line that I could use but they seem quite long, can I use these, if so should I cut them down?

Also have a 300gr Beulah Elixir head for the rod as well, any suggestions for poly leaders would also be appreciated.

I'll likely be using the Skagit head looking for bull trout more often than not, so getting that set up is my first priority. Looking to chuck streamers mostly, if that helps.

....and of course, thanks for any help offered, getting this two handed rod lining black magic voodoo figured out is proving a bit more involved than I initially thought.

·
Dom
3,156 Posts
At that grain/weight skagit I would stick with Rio light MOW or IMOW tips or any of Rio replacement tip up to 100gr in 10'. 120gr seems a bit heavy for this line aspecially if you are a begginer. Your versitips will work fine as well.

Elixir lines are strong scandi lines and will turn over any 10' poly tip.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply and advice. Got out today for a brief casting practice session. River was heavily blown out and running high and fast to the point that I had difficulty even finding a place to safely get in to the water and cast.