Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Personally find running lines fitted with shooting-heads less tiring when covering water with limited backcasting room. Notice that Rio offering relatively short shooting heads (12-15 ft). Questions: Are tips needed with these heads? Do these relatively short shooting heads offer enough "anchor" to effectively load shorter rods? What other running line-shooting line combinations recommended by readers who also like to shoot casts from tight banks. Will be using floating and intermediate heads on Loop Green 13' 2" 9 wt. Thanks in advance for any help given.

·
Registered
14 Posts
I don't know the Rio heads, and I bet there will be more on the market from other manufaturers as well. The main thing is to find a system that is balanced to your rod, and to be willing to learn a little something new in your cast. I've been using the Loop heads with the Loop rods for a few years and they certainly work well for me.

·
Pullin' Thread
4,694 Posts
The RIO 15 foot heads are really sink tips to be looped to the belly of a line or longer floating shooting head. What you want to get are the Loop Adapted Heads or RIO's Scandanavian Shooting Head for 2-handers. RIO is also going to have a Skagit style shooting head line on the market later this year.

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
The Airflo heads are really nice. They come in 3 lengths, 28', 35', and 45'. There are 4 densities-floating, intermediate,
DI3 sink (3 ins/sec), and DI7 sink (7 ins/sec), and the line weights are 7 thru 12. The Airflo coated running line comes in floating-.030 &.035 and intermediate-.024 & .030 and is available with or without a large loop on one end.

·
Registered
1,297 Posts
just tryed a homebuilt setup tonight,,,chopped a ten weight tarpon , worked better in the pasture!!!,how would you compare cobra to amnesia???...for running line...or...?..i'm mostly using this settup for distance overhead casting,and shooting.

·