Spey Pages banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right before Christmas, I snagged one of these rods at a great price. The owner tried it once, and he hadn't Spey Cast before. He didn't like it.

What Rio Lines do you like with this rod? It will be used for Winter Steelhead in N. Ca, and early fall Steelhead in SW Oregon. Also, it will be used for Shad Fishing.

If our rivers ever go down, I will be testing Rio's Grand Spey Floating 8/9, and I have my Grand Spey 7/8 with tips to try on it.

I prefer either the Mid Spey or the Grand Spey type of lines.

One final question re taping the ferrules:

I have got conflicting opinions on taping the ferrules. Do you or don't you tape with the ARC rods?

·
Registered
630 Posts
Long ago,

I had an ARC 1409, and did fine with wax on the spigot ferrules. On the other hand, I was a rookie spey caster and probably never pushed the rod to its limits. I think you'll be fine with wax if you check your connections enough. However I didn't have the ability to fling a whole Grandspey. Good luck!

·
Registered
2,732 Posts
I had the 1409 for a while but replaced ith with the 1509 to get a bit more umph for throwing tips - I used a WC 8/9/10 on the rod and it did great. I would think that the 8/9 GS would load it with no problems - I would just go out and try both your GS's on it.

I rarely tape the ARC rods though Scott suggested you do so. I check periodically and generally just wax and have never had one come apart and I throw long belly xlt's on both my ARC rods - the 1509 and the 1287.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Rick J

Thanks for this advice:

"I would just go out and try both your GS's on it.

"I rarely tape the ARC rods though Scott suggested you do so. I check periodically and generally just wax and have never had one come apart and I throw long belly xlt's on both my ARC rods - the 1509 and the 1287."