Spey Pages banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Member FRSCA
2,264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thinking of hooking up with a set of the scandanavian heads/tips for my Sage8126. I have the idea in my head that the 8/9 cut to 38ft/500grains would be ideal. I toss this rod overhand/head out on the big lake with just a 450grain 24ft stripper head on it now, works great.

Also, wondering if one of these heads could be squeezed on an Abel super 8 spool?

As always, Thanks,

Jamey

·
Member FRSCA
2,264 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Shoot it

My plan was to just loop it to a running line. If I am way off with this, let me know, I am pretty new to the shooting head thing. The tech guys at Sage had recommended that 500-550 grains pushes this rod pretty good. I have fished it with a head at 44ft and just over 600grns, and felt it was a bit overloaded for myself.

Thanks,

Jamey

·
Junkyard Spey
7,112 Posts
Peter, here is Per's post...

Hello Peter,

Here are a few comments on shooting heads:
For the Underhand cast, in effect a crisp and short stroked single Spey, aimed at shooting lots of line rather than rolling it out, the heads should be relatively short. To load the the rod these "shorties" must be one or two line classes heavier than what the rod is rated for.

This is a rough guide for what I use:

12,5' #8, 35' #10 or 40' #9
14' #9, 38' #11 or 42' #10
15' #10, 38' #12 or 41' #11
16' #11, 42' #12 or 46' #11
(The longer the head, the lighter the AFTM class.)

With floating to light sinking lines I use 15' - 20' of leaders. (On fast sinkers to grain lines the leaders are from 10' - 3')

Nowadays there are a bunch of good heads to buy, straight from the shelf. I use both Loop and Airflo ones and find them great, given that one stops to compare what they cost to the home made ones. They cast tighter loops and turn over better than what most of the cut down DT:s do.