Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still pretty new at this game so I'd appreciate any advice or opinions on the Sage 9140. I took a spey casting class and this was the rod that I first used and was recommended so I bought a slightly used one. I later bought a Sage 6126 which I love for fishing the smaller rivers in N. CA where I live. Now that I'm getting decent at casting I'm thinking of getting a heavier weight rod but switching back to the traditional action of the 9140 gets my timing all messed up.
I've heard that the 9140 is one of the best "traditional spey" rods
but I pretty much learned to cast "underhand" from the beginning
and it seemd most of you prefer a faster rod for that style. Since I can't afford to go out and buy another brand new rod, I'm thinking of selling the 9140. :( I'm torn about what to do. Any suggestions?? Thanks.
Kim

·
loco alto!
3,053 Posts
If it was me, I would hold onto the 9140 until you find a better replacement rod. Only then should you sell the 9140.

If you sell the 9140 first, you'll be more likely to replace it hastily rather than carefully.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Despite all these fancy fast action spey rods available today, the original 9140's are still, without question, one of the sweetest rods ever made, IMHO. I, too, enjoy faster action rods, and a lot of these rods practically cast themselves, but it's nice to go back to a real traditional rod every once in a while, slow things down a bit and cast a rod that forces you to really work on your technique. It's great to feel those 9140's bend all the way to the cork and just launch the line. The feel of these rods is unparalleled.

I'd hang on to it. However, if you do decide to part ways with it, it's going to be snatched up in a second!

BFR

·
Registered
11,027 Posts
This just about covers it with a heavy blanket..

loco_alto said: