Spey Pages banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I moved from the San Francisco Bay area to the Stockholm area. My collection of fly fishing gear was based on striped bass fishing in the bay, and rods for use down in Baja and other salt water destinations.

Now I want to learn to fish the local waters, and am happy to move to the world of spey. Since I fished heads almost exclusively with the single handed rods, the underhand cast sounds perfect for me.

While I realise that one rod never does it all, I no longer have an American-type salary -- actually I'm a student so have no salary at all -- and would like to get one good outfit then add to it at a later stage. I have a couple of Tibor salt water reels which will likely do fine, and have always liked Loop reels, althoguh the ones I have are to small for a spey line).

I do have an old Sage 9140 which I bought off a friend years ago for use on the N Umpqua (but never fished as I did just fine with a single handed rod and didnät really have a line for it) so thought that I'd look at getting a Sage 7141. Before I do though I'd like to ask the opinion of the board as to what they'd do.

I want to fish the Mörrum, and other rivers here in Sweden. I will likely also fish the coastal waters around where I live (Dalarö) in the spring for seatrout.

Any suggestions?

thanks
Guy

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
Guy,

Which 9140 do you have - the 3 or 4 piece? If it is the 9140-3 you are in business - you may even find the locals enviously eying your rod. The 4 piece is too soft for my liking and would not be a good match for the shooting head type lines popular in Scandinavia. The 3 piece on the other hand, is one of the all time great "all-round" rods ever made!