Spey Pages banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all,

I'm looking for recommendations for rod/line for a beginning spey chucker? What rod/line set up do you recommend and what features make it ideal for a beginner.

I'm fishing rivers in SW BC, Vedder, Harrison, Chehalis, Thompson etc. Salmon and steelhead.

Thanks

·
Junkyard Spey
7,114 Posts
There are a many really great rod/line combos out there for a new spey caster. With the right line almost any of the current spey rods can become very workable combos. I believe the place to start is your budget. In my view it does no good to discuss tackle you can't afford. After that then maybe the action you prefer in a single hander. There are most likely some shops close to you that have demo tackle. Discuss you wants with them and try out some different actions.

·
That Guy in PEI.....
1,945 Posts
VFN.
I am fairly new to this as well and have fished the vedder,, although only for a few days. For the purpose of sponsorship, i will not mention the shop but the guy's name is fred and he owns the shop :razz: and is fairly close to the Vedder river,,, You probably know the shop i am talking about. . You can find some great tackle there but i would not suggest the "Iron Feather" rod that may still be for sale there. I have not read very many favorable reports about these two-handers. I would post here for a "combo" that will fit your expectations.
I will be out there in a few weeks and will be fishing the vedder for 4-5 days and will gladly let you try any of my gear if you wish to get out for a day.
Best of luck.
Salmon Chaser
><)))*>

·
Registered
2,829 Posts
Vfn

Get ahold of Dana and/or Kush in your general area for lessons. Between them they have a speyshop full of lines and rods that you can try out as a part of lessons. The lessons will prevent a lot of frustration trying to learn it on your own.

·
Registered
646 Posts