Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
JD
3,609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have any experience with either mag mount or vacuum mount rod carriers? (for Spey rods) I am leaning towards a vacuum mount since one of them may have to mount on my (glass) moon roof. My main concern is that most of them deny being suitable for highway speeds.

Seems like this has come up before but a search came up negative.

><///('>
JD

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
JD,

Both Dana and I have been using Vac Racs for 5+ years. They are great. We rip up and down the Trans Canada Hwy at warp speed and have had only one mishap. It was due to operator error, we failed to fully clean the frost off the roof of the truck and it came off at 60 MPH :whoa:! Even so disaster was avoided as the Rac on the hood held - even with two 16' rods - but it did cause the heart rate to jump - we are much more careful these days!

·
loco alto!
2,979 Posts
not exactly your request, but I use the ski holders in my Yakima rack up to 70 mph with no problems whatsoever.

·
JD
3,609 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
vac racks

Kush,

Are your "vac racks" made by Rod mounts or someone else? If so, who?

><///('>
JD

J

·
0 Posts
I also use the vacuum mount Vac Racs and have had no problems. More impressively, they're used all over in Iceland. Each Rac would have several thousand dollars worth of rods and reels and the guides would tear along at over 100kph on the trails (they weren't even remotely roads) next to the river. We'd be bounced all over the vehicles inside, but we never had a Rac fail. Rio products were the first to my knowledge to carry these and that's how I got mine. Then they were coming with a UK label on them for awhile (I forget whether it was Scierra or one of the others) and I believe even Redington was messing with them for a period of time. Great product. I believe Orvis carried the magnetic mount version about the same time Rio had the vacuum version. Don't know where to go for them today.

·