Spey Pages banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

New two-handed caster here, having an issue with skagit casting on my VXP 7133. I have a Skagit MAX Long 525, 27' in length. I consider myself a competent human and single-handed caster, generally.

So, to try to make this short - out this week with my buddy, I'm casting the same rod with an Airflo Scandi Compact 460 at 33': no issues, decent loops. Switch over to the skagit head, 9' of T-11 and a large intruder and I'm just not able to make it sail very often. I'm a newbie, but with my buddy's 12.5' Beulah with a 20ish foot head it's much easier to get the head out of the water on the rip.

I'm thinking a shorter skagit head would help, given that the Rio website recommends that line for 14' rods and longer. The Long is 27', the regular MAX is 23'. I'm sure a good caster could make it work, but I'm looking to make it easy on myself and I think 4 feet is significant in this case. If I can make the scandi head work at 33' with a snap T, I'm thinking a 23' head with a 9' tip would give me a similar ratio. I'm looking for a line that I can cast with a compact stroke without trying to flail around like Gandalf to get the head out of the water. I do plan on seeking out a lesson or two this winter/spring as well.

Would the 4 feet make a big difference? Any help appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
210 Posts
The 4 feet could definitely make a difference. You may not be allowing your D-loop to form properly, ie rushing the forward stroke so that you have too much anchor in the water still. You may also be cutting your tip inwards and across as opposed to out and across from your body again leading to an insuffucient D-loop for pulling the tip out of the water but those are just a few of many possible issues.