Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here, decided to learn spey , I bought a Sage X switch rod 8114 because the river near me is not that big, I thought 11ft will do the job, and I paired it with intouch Switch chucker Spey #8 line with 25 ft head, 520gr. During my practice I found out that the line is too heavy with the sinking leader and streamer, and difficult to cast. Is my setup incorrect? Please give me your advice,any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
5,211 Posts
According to Rio website InTouch Switch is roughly 55 feet.

If you are going to try learning on your own - it is perhaps the most difficult route to take. But it can be done.

Other than that: Try holding the line with a shorter length beyond the tiptop. Say 40 and with a tapered leader and fly for now.

·
Premium Member
Meiser, T&T, and OPST two handers; Scott, Orvis, & Winston SH. Danielsson and Hardy Reels
1,078 Posts
You don't say what kind of casting you are doing. If you are using the setup you describe and trying to do an overhead cast, you definitely have way too much weight. These lines and sink tips are designed to be used with sustained anchor casts which makes the sink tip not be as much of a factor. So...for now find a floating line, a used skagit line for your rod would be perfect. Learn your basic Double Spey and Snap T casts with the floater and then move into the InTouch setup. Getting some lessons is the best way to learn.

·
Undertaker
1,339 Posts
I believe you would be much happier with a shorter Skagit, or perhaps a Rage Scandi type line. I would go with a short-head Skagit line around 550 grains if you want to toss tips and a slightly lighter Rage for dry line work. One can toss longer heads with shorter rods but it is much more difficult.

·
Broken Down Spey Freak
1,813 Posts