Spey Pages banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I've been flyfishing for about four years now and have really wanted to buy a two hander in the last little while. I've been planning to buy a rod and reel in the 8-9wt range for large salmon and steelhead but recently found a real good price a brand new rod and reel rated for #6 line that I couldn't refuse. Not exactly what I was looking for or the best of makes, but I'm sure it will be a good rod to begin with and practice with. It is a Dragonfly Excalibur 12'6. I'm not even sure if it's a true spey or just a really large switch?

Question is: Being a newbie and the thousands of different lines out there to put on it, where do I even begin???? I'm hoping I can get something that casts well and I can both swing large flies and throw dries as well? I'm planning on using this for medium sized fish in the 4-10lb range. Any info, advice and help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance! Tightlines
-Kamfly

Attachments

·
Registered
52 Posts
Must have line

Kam, Regaurdless of the rod I think every angler can benefit from owning the appropriate weighted Rio Scandi Short Versitip system. I generally accompany mine with a mono running line and lately that's been OPST Laser 35#. This line is a great starting point as it is relatively easy to cast with either touch and go casts or sustained anchor casts. Looking at you rods dynamics I would go with the 6wt (370gr) line. It comes with 4 tips floating, intermediate, type 3 and type 6 which allow you to fish the majority of the water column and it turns over decent sized bugs Hobo Speys, smaller intruders with smaller eyes (Silveys Extractor Summer sizes). This would get you off and running with a complete system ready to catch fish and allow you to build experience.