Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Spey in the South?!
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys-

I am totally new to spey fishing. I am figuring on a long uphill journey but I was pleased to see that I already use one of the 'spey casts' with my one handed rods. I like to use a long low backcast with a haul while leaving the leader just on top of the water to create a pretty good shooting roll. I guess I can hit about 70 feet with this, and I can't wait to try it on a long rod. What is this cast called, exactly?

I am trying to nudge my wife towards the CND 7 weight 13' for my birthday in November. I have some questions about the rod and then some about a reel for it.

First off, this is a good place to start, right? I haven't seen many pictures of the rod online but the grip looks like the standard spey (no weird curves like that little Loop Blackline) and the seat, etc., looked pretty nice. Are these well-constructed rods in person? (I understand CND is a sponsor and I am only looking for a comparison line from a company whose rods I have seen.) What color are the blanks and wraps and how does the graphite insert seat on the 7 wt look? Is this going to be the larger diameter spey seat or will my standard reelseats fit it?

To the reel. I am looking at a Rio Windcutter or MidSpey for starters. I am already an experienced caster of one handed rods, solid on my fundamentals and able to hit full-line distances. The reason I am going to the spey is, 1) I just think they are really an amazing way to catch fish and 2) I'd like to be able to break 120'.

I fish the White River drainage in Arkansas, a very large waterway with a big hydroeletric dam making it cold, but it is over a hundred yards across in places. I hope to use the 7 wt. Spey for streamer fishing in high water on this and other tailwaters.