Spey Pages banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
cast,mend,stumble,swear..
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
what happens when a tube fly and a Waddington shank are allowed to spend some quality time together w/ the lights off........:tsk_tsk: ok, so that wasn't that funny....

This is my first attempt ever at a "tube fly"... The inspiration for this endeavor was reading a few posts complaining about tubes breaking. Having never fished or tied tubes before, am to understand the plastic ones may not be the most durable. The other form o' inspiration was the question about getting a riffle hitch on a tube. An interesting proposition that had a few ideas thrown at it.

And I have to admit - the tube flies I've seen tied w/ the big fat plastic tubes (1/8" and 3/16" dia) just look funny... :hihi: I mean really, they kinda look like a fly w/ a cotton candy tube shoved down it's throat/up it's a$$!!!:chuckle: :whoa:

So I was thinking about this, and also reading the most recent Northwest Flyfishing mag, w/ the tube fly tied on the micro tubing from HMH. And thinking about the tube fragility concerns, and the idea of having a riffle ritch option, This creation came to mind - how about combining the micro tubing w/ a Waddington shank, piggy back style, and tying the fly of choice onto that base. So I contacted the Red Shed (shameless plug...) and requested shanks, tubing, and junction tubing. The following pictures are the results of my first attempts... All things considered, I'm pretty happy w/ the product! Seems to me it provides the bennies of a tube fly (line passes through the fly, rather than around the body, and can freely slide on the line if desired) coupled w/ the bennines of the Waddington's (durability, weight, riffle hitch capable)...

Yeah, I know, redundant, and extra expense in combining a Waddington and a tube body. But hell - when you live 120 miles from steelhead waters, it's amazing what crap you'll come up w/ in your free time... :hihi: :Eyecrazy: