Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm curious if any one has had a failure of their rack & pinion system on their frameless boat?(Water masters, NFO, Outcast)

Where was the failure?(pin fracture, oar, pad attaches to craft) What were the circumstances?

Thanks.

·
Internet Scientist
1,302 Posts
Jammed an oar (my fault, downstream oar in thin water), oar broke (end of the plastic blade) but no damage to oar lock. NFO Renegade. No other problems so far (wrt to oar system). Fairly easy floats (e.g. Sandy River from Oxbow to L&C)

·
Registered
102 Posts
I don't know of any personal watercraft that uses a "rack and pinon" system for the oars...as far as I can tell that would serve no functional purpose.

I have a Watermaster and have rowed easily over 1,000 miles on it. I haven't had any problems with the mounts for the oars. I did blow a rivet on one of the heavy duty oars, which led to my blade falling out, but that was after many miles. Over time, the pre-drilled holes on the oars where they slide into the mount will begin to widen from use (just a function of the mounting system) and the oars will get a bit "sloppier" but no issue.

·
Registered
407 Posts
My friend and I have had our outlaw boats since they first came out. 5-6 years? Don't know for sure but no problems at all with oar attachments to raft. Row both lakes and rivers all the time with no issues with the oars and their system. Mike

·
Registered
1,703 Posts
ditto. stock NFO "oars" are like toys. I need to upgrade to a set of caviness or something else made for real-world conditions.

Jammed an oar (my fault, downstream oar in thin water), oar broke (end of the plastic blade) but no damage to oar lock. NFO Renegade. No other problems so far (wrt to oar system). Fairly easy floats (e.g. Sandy River from Oxbow to L&C)

·
Registered
1,259 Posts