Spey Pages banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have been swinging a 2 ahnder for a few years now and want to try using spey casts with a single handed rod. What is the best type of line to use for a floater and any suggestions on a multi tip system to use also. I fish for all types of fish from trout to steelhead and think being abel to use spey casting with a 1 hander could come in handy and be fun. I plan to use an orvis 8wt 9' rod.:)

thank you,

chris:razz:

·
Registered
42 Posts
Hi,

Best information I have seen is in Simon Gawesworths book. The chapter on single handed spey casting is fantastic.

Simon drops in here sometimes as Speybro.

Might be worth doing a search see if he has posted anything on the subject.

Sam

·
Mr. Mom
625 Posts
Etacata said:
Hi, I have been swinging a 2 ahnder for a few years now and want to try using spey casts with a single handed rod. What is the best type of line to use for a floater and any suggestions on a multi tip system to use also. I fish for all types of fish from trout to steelhead and think being abel to use spey casting with a 1 hander could come in handy and be fun. I plan to use an orvis 8wt 9' rod.:)

thank you,

As a start, you can use whatever you currently use on your single handed rod. Most of us use single spey casting when we have to, not as our default single handed casting, so while you might want a heavier line if that's all you were doing, normally it wouldn't be all you're doing. for multi tip lines I use a versitip, because I worked for a rio dealer, so that's what I could get. I haven't kept up with single hand multi tip line development.

Just have fun and don't sweat the gear.

·
Laird of Locharber
90 Posts
Single Handed Spey Lines

Etacata said:

thank you,