Spey Pages banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, Folks...

I would like to ask the experienced among you a beginners question.
I am new to fly fishing, just starting out,in fact. Is there any reason NOT to start out with spey casting right from the start? What do you all think? Thank you for your advice. Go Well.

PeterD:confused:

·
chrome-magnon man
5,375 Posts
Peter, I've been teaching Spey since 1998 and I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of people I've met who went straight to double handed fly rods. Some people believe that starting with a single hander is better because everything you need to know about good casting is easier to learn with a single hander because you only have one hand to worry about. I'm not sure that I agree with this. After working with hundreds of Spey casters I can tell you that the few I've met who didn't have a background in single hand casting didn't seem to struggle with the two-hander any more than anyone else.

My one question would be this: are all the situations you are most likely to fish in going to be appropriate for a two-hander? You can learn to Spey cast with a single hander, so if some of your fishing is appropriate for a single hander, you might want to go the single hand route first, learn to both overhead and Spey cast with it, then get yourself a two-hander.

·
Registered
378 Posts