Spey Pages banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
QUESTION: Spey line section names

Hello,

I have been single-handing for about 20 years, and I am starting to Spey, and doing well with it, but I am lacking a bit of understanding. Looking for any suggestions or information re line setups for freshwater river steelhead 45-55 degree water.

Can anyone please explain the main section names of spey line I should be using?

Here is my understanding of section names:

BACKING --- RUNNING LINE --- SHOOTING LINE --- HEADER --- LEADER
(30lb) ---------------------- (RIO windcutter) (floating) (15' -25-8lb)

Is this coorct? I understand the running line can be built into the shooting. Is this true in all cases?

SO is Spey line always broken into 5 main sections?

I undrestand shooting line (which I have) is not required?

Can anyone give me a basic and simple lesson on the section names of typical Spey lines rig?

I am fishing for Steelhead in 50 degree waters (river fishing) ..

Thanks for any help or clarifications - hitting the river on Tues! Thanks!!

·
Junkyard Spey
7,105 Posts
SO is Spey line always broken into 5 main sections?

In my opinion the answer is yes. Starting from the front a spey line has a tip, usually 1', a front taper, a belly/body, a rear taper, and a running line. I would call the tip, front taper, belly/body, and rear taper "the head". The running line and shooting line are one and the same and the rear end of the running line attaches to the backing.

·
Registered
344 Posts
spey lines dont have to be any different than single hand.

Backing -same
line -same
leader -same
tippet -same