Spey Pages banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've tried searching on this topic but cannot quite phrase it to get a near enough answer to my question. So, I have a set of 15' tips for an 8-wt, weight-forward versitip, as well as some t-14 in 10' and 15' lengths. Can any of these also be used on a 7 or 8 wt (or grain equivalent) Skagit line? I'm just getting into the swing with 2-handers, my feeling is they may be a little light for this use. But, the whole tip-grain-weight thing is just a little hazy to me. Thanks!

·
registered text offender
1,408 Posts
weigh your tips. rio 15' tips for 8wt spey weigh about 110gr. that said, with some adjustment, you can prob throw what you have. 15' of t-14 may not be much fun.

·
Registered
213 Posts
The T-14 for sure should be used with the skagit line, that's what they work best with. The other tips will also work with a skagit line if you want to fish lighter or shallower. It may not be ideal, but it will still work for you. I've fished 10 foot polyleaders of a skagit compact. You just need to take it real easy and remember that you may not be able to turn over bigger or heavier flies. Ideally the versitips work best with something longer and not as aggressive taper as your skagit, but they still will fish for you.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sink tip questions

Thanks for the replies! Just starting out I am, understandably, trying to save a little $ until my cash reserves are better. Later I"ll get some MOW tips, thinking perhaps a 2.5/7.5 float/sink and a 5/5 float/sink. Or would some other combo be better for the NU?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sorry, I meant 7.5 foot floating/2.5 foot sinking tip MOW, but maybe I was right the first time? As I figured, the versitips may be too light, as you point out.

·
Registered
5,276 Posts