Spey Pages banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I have a rio skagit 650 line and I am using rio's 10wt 15' type 8 tip on it. My question is I want to go heavier. With all this rain and high rivers I want a tip that will get down quicker than the type 8. I'm pretty new to spey fishing and dont know what else is out there.

thank you!:hihi:

chris:razz:

·
swing'n Lemmings
206 Posts
Cheeters

If you are using the Rio Cheaters you can try to use the intermediate Sheeters they will help you gain a bit of added depth. If you dont have those you can try t-14 will also has a faster sink rate then a type 8 tip. if al else fails try to throw a few upstream mends in there too.
Rambo

·
Junkyard Spey
7,114 Posts
I believe some Rio T-14 will serve you well. 14grns per foot and 8"-9" per second sink rate. A 30' coil sells for $14.95

·
loco alto!
3,109 Posts
In my experience, T-14 seems to sink only slightly faster than Type 8 tips, if at all. As indicated above, consider heavier flies, a cheater, or a longer tip to keep the fly down. T-14 is cheap but it weighs a ton, and your rod might buck the added weight if you go entirely to T-14 tips.

Consider making a 5' T-14 cheater for yourself, that would be a really cheap way to go. If you don't want extra loops in the line, then the Airflo Custom Cut 10 wt tip will give you a longer (20') tip without much added weight.

but reallly ... in heavy water fish are often lazy, so consider using your current setup and concentating on softer water along the edges

·
Registered
3,042 Posts
I agree with SSpey, I would be inclined to focus on the softer water where the fish will go to get out of the heavy flow. In many cases I bet the type 8 set-up you are using would be too much for where the fish are sitting!

·
Skidrow Woolley Fly Club
387 Posts