Spey Pages banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for my first Spey Rod and would like some advice on brand names, and rod actions. I will be fishing waters like the Stilliguamish, Skagit, and Sauk. I can't afford to pay too much $ because im a poor college student. If anyone has a used spey for sale please contact me, if its not too expensive. I can't wait to be fishing my home waters with a new toy, thank you for your time.

Rob Zelk

PS - I'm possibly considering building my own, but i've heard it's about the same price as a new rod in the end.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Depends..

Codfather,

Building your own can be much less expensive depending on the grade of components used. Example: Struble Reel Seat vs Pac Bay. By using Pac Bay you could save $40 bucks. Another $$ Saver is to use Chrome Snake guides instead of Titanium. As far as Blanks are conscerned try going to a Fly Fishing Show or check the Internet for Closeouts and Specials. I picked up a 14ft 8/9 Diamondback blank for under $200. You can save on the cork if you don't mind using a lesser grade. I think you could build a rod for a little over $300 if you shop around, maybe even less.

·
Registered
1,547 Posts
The rivers you mention can use a substantial wand, say, a 15-foot 10/ll; except for the upper North Stilly in late summer, which can be fished handily with a trout rod. You can save roughly 50% by building a rod, and whatever its flaws, it'll feel like a part of you. Or shop carefully. Somebody got a fine 16' Hardy graphite on eBay the other day for not much more than $200.

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
Rob

I have a Sage 10150-4 (15ft 10wt) that is for sale. I have used it on the Sauk a couple times and on the penninsula a bit also. Probably sell it for around 250 let me know if your interested
[email protected]

·
JD
3,609 Posts
Spey Rod