Spey Pages banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,723 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry as I'm sure it's been discussed but I can't seem to find it using the search.

I'm brand new to two-handed casting and this is my first post. The ability to make longer casts, not strip and cast with little back space convinced me to get my first rod. I've one-handed casted for a while now.

Question. I know with single handed rods I like to balance my rods at a certain point on the foregrip.

How do you know if your two-handed rod is balanced properly? I'll be fishing with a CND 13'4" Solstice. I haven't gotten the rod yet but would a Teton 9-11 std or Islander 3.8LX work? Both reels are about 8oz. Any suggestions on reel weight or actual reels to use on this particular rod?

Thanks and I'm finding this forum to be very insightful.

Preston
Toronto

·
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic
1,771 Posts
I am certain you will get a range of answers as there is an element of preference in this - but my idea of balance (regardless of brand or model) is based on two criteria.

First I prefer the reel to feel neither too heavy for the rod or vice versa while in motion during casting. Secondly I like the rod to neither tip nor nod while swinging the fly as a result of the reel weight. If not noticable it then it's just fine.

I would balance the outfit with the working line out of the reel, a little swing tension if you can, and the cork held where you like. Put the top hand near the top of the cork and it should be balanced there, or close to it.

During the swing I like to hold with top hand gripped lightly near the top of the cork at the balance point comfortably on the same side of the body. I wade no further than my arm can hang without bending at the elbow, with occasional exceptions for really tempting spots. This promotes long easy days of fishing without strain on the arm. If the combination feels balanced for the majority of swings you make in a day #2 is good to go.